Welcome to Gaia! ::

Feral Loiterer

I finally finished my first draft of a novel I've been working on for about a year now and it occurred to me that since I've never written something this huge before (the manuscript is 200pg double-sided), editing it seems a really discouragingly daunting task.

Needless to say there is lots of axing, adding and rewriting in my future. ninja

Anyway, I'm curious how you guys go about editing your big kahunas. Do you give it a read through before you start marking it up, do you edit in stages, or dive right in?

Questionable Inquisitor

When I edited my novel, I was surprisingly excited to do it. haha!

I made a goal of how many pages or chapters I was going to get done in a day. I usually ended up editing more than that goal and actually finished it in a couple days. I marked up the entire book on the first read and then edited the digital file. However, my novel was significantly shorter than yours! razz
This is what I do. I take a break. Avoid it for a few weeks to month while I work on other things. Then I come back and hit it.

I mark it up as I read through it. Each draft I may have a few notes of things I want to focus on, but nothing is off limits. I try to do a scene or chapter a day. A few days later, I'll upload the changes to that scene or chapter.

Timing is important to me. A break between drafts, between marking up and uploading, and such freshens my eyes.

Devoted Bookworm

16,250 Points
  • Cats vs Dogs 100
  • Autobiographer 200
  • Beta Forum Regular 0
Disclaimer - my work tends to be closer to 65k, and I don't write a lot of fluff (I tend to cut things that don't work in the first draft because the story doesn't feel right), so I don't have the same sort of task as it sounds like you will.