Welcome to Gaia! ::

What makes a scary story scary?
I personally have read 2 scary stories my whole life, and one wasn't intended to be scary, it just came off that way because I was a child. So I have very little experience with this genre. Also is their a scary novel that is recent that I might be able to find in a bookstore? Thank you ahead of time :3

Popular Member

7,750 Points
  • Popular Thread 100
  • Overstocked 200
  • Tipsy 100
Pikachu has Fainted

Psychology. It's not the images or the dark or the killing that makes a story scary. It's the author convincing us why they terrify someone.
I_Write_Ivre
Pikachu has Fainted

Psychology. It's not the images or the dark or the killing that makes a story scary. It's the author convincing us why they terrify someone.

Exactly! The Mist is far "scarier" to me than The Cabin in the Woods was because of just that.
Sir Icehawk
I_Write_Ivre
Pikachu has Fainted

Exactly! The Mist is far "scarier" to me than The Cabin in the Woods was because of just that.

Is the mist a movie or a book? :3 and also can you be more precise or give an example?
Pikachu has Fainted
Sir Icehawk
I_Write_Ivre
Pikachu has Fainted

Is the mist a movie or a book? :3 and also can you be more precise or give an example?

The first is a movie based off a novella by Stephen King. The other is a movie too. I'd suggest renting them. Well, rent The Mist. The Cabin is your basically: kids go out to woods. Monsters kill them. The Mist is complex.
I dont want a movie example, i want a book example :3, and no goosebumps book i mean real scary.
I know it's now what you want, but you can learn a lot by watching movies like The Mist, Breathing Room, The Cube, and such. They're about how humans react to stress. No, you won't see how it can be done in writing, but you can apply what you see to writing.