Welcome to Gaia! ::

Firstly, I don't necessarily mean that the ideas I'm coming up with are good, but I'm finally cracking down on myself and forcing myself to write no matter what horror I may produce.

Well I've been developing this story in my head for about 2 months now and am finally jotting down things on paper as I thought that maybe these ideas could work. Yet some of my ideas for said story are beginning to conflict with each other and I cannot choose between them. I've thought of the pros and cons between some of them and it's just so frustrating! Has anyone else had conflicting story/plot ideas before?

As cliche as it may sound, I just love doing fantasy/sci-fi based stories. The two main conflicting ideas I am having right now are dealing with my main characters origins and the setting. I just cannot decide which of my ideas I like most as I see each one having great potential, but at the same time I also see some possible flaws with them.

For now the big problem is whether or not I want to set it on Earth, in a made-up world, or starting on Earth and then sending the story over to the made-up world/universe. I know the third one would probably be the most cliche, but I think I can make it work if I tried. The Earth-only based one I'm thinking of would probably be more sci-fi based than fantasy. I'd ellaborate more, but I do not wish to give too much away.

I feel like I could make either one work, but I just don't know which setting I like the most. I'm also so paranoid about being overly cliche, but at the same time I know that it's possible to make some cliches work. So it's all been a very hard decision for me to make and is the only thing keeping me from continuing this story. gonk

So for those of you who have had this sort of problem, what's a good way to solve it? Or even if you haven't had this problem, advice and opinions are always welcome anyways since I desperately need it. xD

Popular Member

7,750 Points
  • Popular Thread 100