Welcome to Gaia! ::

ZypTrek's Wife

Dapper Lover

Can be quite a pain in the a**. It's what I do for a living, since getting a job in the particular state of the economy isn't all that easy. But honestly... anyone who has done it - I've been doing it for about a year, and I'm getting to the point where I'm hitting a wall. A lot of the commissions are the same ol' same ol'. Any idea how to either push through that and keep going, or where a good place for me to get fresh commissions would be?

Sparkly Gekko

I'd love to know how to get into something like that. Getting paid for my writing? s**t, I wouldn't care what I had to write. But I would imagine that hitting a wall for commissions is much the same as hitting one for your personal stuff.

Maybe treat them as exercises? Sure, you've gotta do what the client wants, but that doesn't mean you can't keep trying to get better while you do so. I dunno. I'm still trying to get over the hurdle of finishing things with my writing, so I'd imagine you're past that if you're commissioning... take a walk and come back to it? Or something?

Is there something specific that's bugging you about this or just the fact that it's becoming formulaic?

Shy Saint

4,050 Points
  • Battle: Cleric 100
  • Timid 100
  • Somebody Likes You 100
How do you get a sweet gig like that? I'd love to get paid for my writing.

What kind of writing do you do? Fiction? Technical? Journalism? Is there any way you can branch out and get new readers/patrons with different tastes and interests? Have you tried crowdfunding? It might not pay the bills, but it should at least earn you a little pocket money and show your work to a different audience.

ZypTrek's Wife

Dapper Lover