Welcome to Gaia! ::

Okay, so these are a couple of questions I've been thinking about asking but didn't really get around to until now.

My first question is about whether or not an entirely anthropomorphic cast of characters, human like animals, is a good choice or not. I've been working with these types of characters for nearly 8 or 9 years now and I was wondering if this was a good or viable choice considering that I'm not only writing online stories, but am working on an unfinished novel as well featuring an entirely anthropomorphic cast. It's a mature novel, though not the sort you're thinking of but it is fairly violent with a fair bit of swearing in it and mature themes, would the chances of it being published publicly on store shelves on average with non-anthropomorphic novels, or would they be lower considering there's a bit of a stigma against "Furries"?

My second question concerns short stories. I normally work with chapters or write stories that usually go over 5,000, sometimes even 10,000 words but I've tried to enter a contest around 3 or so years ago that required stories to be under 700 words and this is when I noticed that... I can't do that. It was impossible for me to write at my full potential in ONLY 700 words, and sadly to say, the story I wrote was complete trash in my eyes and I absolutely loath it. What I want to do now is write shorter stories and one-offs to try and be a better all-around author, unfortunately I don't even know what to do or where to begin as I have never, NEVER, in all my years written a single one-off or short story.

So my question is; What can I do to improve writing shorter stories and one-offs? Also, is there any sort of advice or suggestions anyone can offer to help me improve?