Welcome to Gaia! ::

hello! C:
this is my first time posting on here, but please, by no means does that mean any of you should go easy on me. i'd really like to get into digital art, and i've been trying to by borrowing my friend's tablet. the program i've been using is paint.net.

what i'd really love is an explanation of what i might be doing wrong, and any critique you find necessary.
i was going for a more painterly style with this, and it sort of came out horrendous. xD;

User Image

@ w @
help please?
I see what you were going for and it was bold but yeah, but it kind of got unintelligible. xD; It would probably help if the brush strokes were following the flow of the lineart. Some gentle blending with the same flow might help as well. And brighter highlights, maybe?
puella in somnio
I see what you were going for and it was bold but yeah, but it kind of got unintelligible. xD; It would probably help if the brush strokes were following the flow of the lineart. Some gentle blending with the same flow might help as well. And brighter highlights, maybe?

ohmygoodness that seems so logical now that i read it. xD;;
i was also afraid that the blending might muss up the colors i was trying to get, but it shouldn't on a lower opacity. thank you so much for your help! C:

frantic spark's Senpai

Angelic Unicorn

The angle of the eyes and upper nose, is as if you were looking down on it from above. The lower face is as if you were facing it more directly. It makes it look a little disjointed. Next time try drawing the rough shape of the skull before building on it.
I know this isn't much of critique but I can barely tell what's going on. :C