Welcome to Gaia! ::

Desirable Regular

6,800 Points
  • First step to fame 200
  • Brandisher 100
  • Forum Sophomore 300
Okay, so Instead of just doing cardio at the gym, I started lifting weights (just simple things like dunnbells for my arms), but I feel so weak. I can barely bench the bar. Now I dont want to be one of thoes mega built females, but Im joining the service soon so I want to be strong, and toned. Any advice, or tips?

Combative Punching Bag

bodybuilding.com is where I get a lot of my information. They have plans, tips, and nutrition advice for both men and women. One piece of advice is don't stop. Starting is the hardest part, start off light and in no time you will be easily doing double what you started at. Congratulations to your start towards a healthier life.
Here is everything you need to know. Anything knowledge you seek outside of this guide is unnecessary for a beginner, or even an intermediate trainee. However, if it interests you, feel free to seek said knowledge, as I do not discourage such curiosity.
Lift big and eat big. Trust me men struggle to get big and bulky. Females have an even harder time.

Savage Hunter

To begin with, those mega built females you see have been training for really long. Let's say about 4yrs or more. It takes quite a while to build muscle so don't expect yourself to get 'bulky' any time soon.
Should I go so far as to say the really bulky women (especially those with deep voices) are usually either using or have used steroids.

Secondly, there is no such thing as 'toning'. If you want your muscles to be stronger, you lift weights. If you want them to be firmer, you remove the layer of fat between them and your skin by doing cardio (or you can still lift weights because that burns calories, just eat less calories overall but more protein)