Welcome to Gaia! ::

I am for all intents and purposes a beginner here, so please forgive me if this is a stupid question.

My school's (tiny) gym has exactly one power rack and a bunch of bars laying off to the side of it (in addition to the one bar in the rack). When I go to do deadlifts, do I take the bar out of the rack and do the movements just outside of it? Or do I take one of the bars off to the side and finagle around with them to get the weights on?

Also, when is it appropriate to use the clips on the bar?

Sorry for the barrage of silly questions...
In the gyms I've been a member of, you can do your deadlifts in the rack. The rack I use now has safety bars coming off it to catch your barbell if you fall during squats, so I usually back up just past the reach of those when I do deadlifts. If you're still unsure, watch what others do.

ALWAYS use the clips if you're putting weights on the bar (I'm assuming you're asking about safety clips). It just takes the slightest tip to the side for the weights to slide off and hit someone else, or drive the bar into someone on the opposite side from the loss of balance.

Your questions aren't silly at all. smile
littleruby
In the gyms I've been a member of, you can do your deadlifts in the rack. The rack I use now has safety bars coming off it to catch your barbell if you fall during squats, so I usually back up just past the reach of those when I do deadlifts. If you're still unsure, watch what others do.

ALWAYS use the clips if you're putting weights on the bar (I'm assuming you're asking about safety clips). It just takes the slightest tip to the side for the weights to slide off and hit someone else, or drive the bar into someone on the opposite side from the loss of balance.

Your questions aren't silly at all. smile