Welcome to Gaia! ::

Okay, so,
I'm a complete noob to this stuff.
So I just wanna know the basics;

~What sizes are there, and the terms for them?
~Does each doll have a certain name, or is it sort of a line of dolls?
~What Is a "face-up?"
~I was thinking of looking at Obitsu & Luts, good idea or no (anything cheaper of the same quality)?
~If I buy a doll, does it come with a wig/eyes, or is that a kit?
~Any other general terms or whatever I should know?

please do not tell me to join DoA, because I won't ;/

Beloved Fairy

6,975 Points
  • Protector of Cuteness 150
  • Waffles! 25
  • Clambake 200
Welcome to the hobby! heart

Every company has different names for their sizes, but some people use Volks' names, which are...

1/6 scale - YoSD / Yo Super Dollfie
1/4 scale - MSD / Mini Super Dollfie
1/3 scale - SD / Super Dollfie
1/3+ scale - SD16, SD17

Other companies have smaller dolls--like Fairyland's Puki lines--and I think they're mostly just called "tinies". Sometimes, you'll get people who get upset if you use Volks terms for non-Volks dolls, but they're arguably the most recognizable names.

It depends on the company--each company usually names their line based on body type, and then each doll is named for the head sculpt.

~What Is a "face-up?"
A "face-up" is what you call the makeup painted on the dolls.

~I was thinking of looking at Obitsu & Luts, good idea or no (anything cheaper of the same quality)?
Obitsu aren't resin, but can be good for starter dolls--they'd just be off-topic in some BJD groups. I believe they also have a different joint system. Luts is an awesome company, but they're pretty expensive. I'd argue they're worth it, though. The Luts Delf line is gorgeous. *__* Though I've heard they have some poseability problems.