Welcome to Gaia! ::

Sparkly Spirit

18,725 Points
  • Perfect Attendance 400
  • Millionaire 200
  • Overstocked 200
Okay, can someone tell me....iffen I missed it....
if everyone is "already infected" and all they had to do to kick that dormant virus in them into high gear is die, then how come a single bite also will make you die and reanimate as a zombie?

I mean,
if it's already in your system, how the heck is a bite going to make any difference?

EDIT: I'm new to this particular forum and altered the first post to comply with spoiler rules as I saw afterwards.
The infection enters their blood stream and contaminates it.
Usually the body has to be dead for it to become infected from the virus.

Apocalyptic Friend

A bite introduces more of the virus into your bloodstream from an outside source. You're getting even sicker.

HOWEVER. It's also evident, in the case of Herschel, that you CAN minimize and/or isolate the damage if the bitten area is removed quickly enough. Herschel was bitten in the leg. The leg was removed, and he recovered without becoming ill enough to die and reanimate.

Blessed Prophet

11,150 Points
  • Peoplewatcher 100
  • Dressed Up 200
The virus that reanimates a dead person's body is in the air. Every living person is infected. So, no matter how they die, they will become a walker. Unless, of course, they are decapitated or shot in the brain.

A bite from a walker does not "introduce more of the virus into your system". If you're infected, then you're infected.

What Rick and the crew don't know is that the human mouth is filthy enough when the person is living. A wound from a human bite can cause a wicked infection and make you very, very sick.

Now, imagine getting bitten by a walker that has a rotten, yuck mouth. There's all kinds of deadly viruses in there to kill you.

So, in a sense, the bite from a walker does contribute to your death. Just not in the way everyone is thinking.

I hope this helped.

Sparkly Spirit

18,725 Points