Welcome to Gaia! ::

Have you heard of tthe Genocide in Darfur?

Yes 0.68376068376068 68.4% [ 80 ]
No 0.31623931623932 31.6% [ 37 ]
Total Votes:[ 117 ]
1 2 3 4 5 6 >

Thieving Prophet

Have any of you heard of this? I've been hearing about it for a few months now, here and there. Frankly its not advertized quite enough. People are more interested in what the stars are doing whats happening in the rest of the world. Its hard to beleive that ALOT of people have no idea whats happening.

Here's a little info:

Darfur is an area in Sudan, Africa, where arab blacks refered to a the janjaweed have been terrorizing non-arab blacks, causing about 2 million people to leave their homes and about 200,000 - 500,000 deaths so far. The targetted blacks mostly live in villages that only have bows and arrows and spears to protect themselves while the janjaweed have machine-guns, grenades and other such things. The government of Sudan is trying to hide the fact that this is happening in its country, and the only remaining 'superpower' of the world, the U.S., is unwilling to help because of their war in Iraq. Now the genocide is spreading beyond the Sudanian borders and starts to affect Chad as well.

I hope to have gotten a message through, to have at least alerted you, if only a few people, about something serious that is happening in our modern world. Everytime I hear about this I just want to raise awareness and I hope you will too.

Discuss such things as ->
"Should the US give up Iraq to help?"
"Is it a chock to hear about such things still happening today?"
Be creative o.o
Unfortunately, this forum isn't for getting a message across, it's about discussion. Did I miss a discussion prompt in your post? What aspect of this should we consider?

Thieving Prophet

O.o Fine, let me get one up there, gimme a sec.

5,100 Points
  • Pie Enabler 100
  • Treasure Hunter 100
  • Cats vs Dogs 100