Welcome to Gaia! ::

I am a youth services librarian and I was putting up the "I love Yarn" display. Lots of our books are out, but I found a few things. One of the kid's books was "Yarn Corkers" which reminded me of a knitting thing one of my colleagues was using. A knitting loom. I thought that looked like a fairly kid-friendly craft.

However, there aren't any kid-friendly books, as far as I can tell.

Do you know of any books that might be suitable? Or is this not a good craft for kids?

Dangerous Stalker

15,900 Points
  • Object of Affection 150
  • Jolly Roger 50
  • V-Day 2011 Event 100
Knitting and spool-knitting are generally safe for well-behaved kids - but they've got to be the type who don't need instant gratification. Knitting takes a lot of patience. It's not necessarily hard to learn (or so they tell me, it took me forever to figure it out), but a small project can take four hours easily, especially for beginners.

I found a few books for kids online. I haven't read any of them, so I don't know if they're any good or not, but they all have bright, appealing covers, so thats a plus. XD Anyway, here they are:

- "Corking" by Judy Ann Sadler, is a spool knitting book with some finger puppets and similar projects for kids 6+.

- "Kids Knitting" by Melanie Falick, which seems to be standard knitting instructions for kids, probably 10+.

- "Kids Knit!" by Sarah Bradberry, another standard knitting book. Apparently this one has 20 different projects. It's listed for "Grade 5-8", but a reviewer on Amazon said they used it to teach 1st and 2nd graders how to knit.