Welcome to Gaia! ::

Dapper Tycoon

6,900 Points
  • Wall Street 200
  • Tycoon 200
  • Millionaire 200
Hey, I've been looking to get started playing pathfinder for a while now. I was wondering if anyone has any tips for beginners. Just for reference, I'm a writer and I'm really interested in being GM. I'm also kind of shy still... A few specific questions! Is it worth investing in buying the bestiaries? Should I do a few games as a player before going into GMing?

Original Player

10,150 Points
  • Tycoon 200
  • Wall Street 200
  • Money Never Sleeps 200
OGApothecary
Is it worth investing in buying the bestiaries?

Only if you want a "complete" collection. I find it far better to have an App on my Android that can handle it. I use PF Battle which comes loaded with info from the current Bestiaries with the ability to add templates to them. Plus it allows me to keep track of rounds and hit points of all involved. Use it every time I run Pathfinder. 3 less books to cart around. If you don't have a mobile device (ie phone, ipad, etc), then the books are far more useful.
OGApothecary
Should I do a few games as a player before going into GMing?

Only if you never played an RPG before. Knowing the few key mechanics of a game is pretty crucial and most new players won't understand certain things others take for granted.

Dapper Tycoon

6,900 Points
  • Wall Street 200
  • Tycoon 200
  • Millionaire 200
Liquidor
OGApothecary

Only if you want a "complete" collection. I find it far better to have an App on my Android that can handle it. I use PF Battle which comes loaded with info from the current Bestiaries with the ability to add templates to them. Plus it allows me to keep track of rounds and hit points of all involved. Use it every time I run Pathfinder. 3 less books to cart around. If you don't have a mobile device (ie phone, ipad, etc), then the books are far more useful.
OGApothecary