Welcome to Gaia! ::

I don't draw backgrounds as often as I should, and I'm having a lot of trouble figuring out what looks good. I know it needs a lot of work yet.
It's my first attempt at making a print to sell online, so I want to make sure everything is right before making such a huge first step (well, for me anyway. @_@ ).

Please critique the background only (minus the sky, I'm happy with how it is), and don't mind the people in the foreground.

User Image

Tipsy Lunatic

You probably could have used a reference for those electric poles.
They're positioned well, but I think they look a little off... Maybe they just need more detail.
The Drunken Jester
You probably could have used a reference for those electric poles.
They're positioned well, but I think they look a little off... Maybe they just need more detail.

They do look very basic.. and I did use references! but there were so many different kinds I kinda just made up my own. Will look into more references for details, thanks.
Maybe you should add some crows on the electrical power lines. I'm not sure if you noticed but those electric poles are super straight and it's not helping that they're going up and down the page. When I first saw it, my eyes just drifted off the page at the top. The crows would help balance the picture out and if you drew some flying around and sitting on top of the power lines.
I think you could add just a little hint of the sky's orange into the shadow areas... I know they're a lil' closer to the characters, but maybe some atmospheric perspective like you have with the trees in the distance, onto those poles would make 'em a bit less distracting upon your characters.
And yeah, I'd reference some wooden power lines too. =3

High-functioning Dabbler

I agree with everyone else, the poles just stick out far too much. Though perhaps that's what you want?