Welcome to Gaia! ::

Okay so I've been dating my girlfriend for about a month to a month and a half. I'm a college student still and she just graduated last year. I go home every other weekend (sometimes every weekend) to work, but I only volunteered to stay to work really so I could have an excuse to see her. We've never really had problems until this past weekend. I was on fall break and we had some plans to go out to a bar so I could meet some of her friends from college, and then go out with the family to the pumpkin patch the next day. Well it rained the whole fall break. Both plans ended up being canceled. The next day she came over to my house to drop something off to my mom and I didn't know she was there. I ended up going in there and talking with them for a bit but not much because I was upset all of our plans got canceled and the rain just put me in a bad mood and I wasn't feeling too good.

So today I text her and we talk and I'd go into more detail but it'd take to long and I feel like this is a wall of text as it is, but she tells me she thinks we need to take a break. She says "I've been nothing but the best" and "she's been nothing but a debbie downer and dumb and needs to get her life together" and "she needs to get her life together for awhile. We're still friends, but she just needs some time." and she said October is full of stuff she has to do and is pretty busy.

This is my first ever serious relationship and I really like her. But I feel like this "break" is more like a "break up". Like, it's a relationship and I feel like there should be no breaks in a relationship. You're in it for a reason. Why do you need a break from it when I hardly see you in the first place? Or maybe I'm just being ignorant and salty?

Every time I've heard of people "taking breaks" in a relationship, it just seems more like a way to cut the cord without really cutting the cord. You guys have any thoughts, opinions, advice, ect...?