Welcome to Gaia! ::

Lucky Risk-Taker

Closed! thank you for all your advice, It went great.

yum_salmon yum_shrimp yum_tamago yum_tuna

I'm going to an unfamiliar sushi bar tomorrow for AYCE sushi with an experienced AYCE sushi friend. I have never done AYCES before, nor sat the actual bar area to eat sushi at my usual sushi place, and I don't want to offend the chefs or bite off more than I can chew (literally). Please help!

Questions
1) What is the tipping norm for AYCES in the bar area? Obviously you tip the server (I'm in the U.S). but do you also tip the chef like you tip bartenders? if so, how much?

2) Is it disrespectful to ask for no spicy mayo (or whatever mayo-based sauce is on the top of the rolls) or the sauce on the side? I hate mayo and all its variants and there are several rolls I would gladly devour if they didn't have *insert mayo-based sauce here* drizzled on top.

3) If we "just let the chef choose" is it disrespectful to say no octopus? I morally oppose eating cephalopods, even though they will become our new overlords if they can figure out how to live for more than a couple years. I would much prefer a Giant Pacific Octopus as Senator Majority Leader over Mitch McConnell anyway.

4) I've hear AYCES sticks in your stomach, are there any pre-sushi dietary rituals that can help with this?

Thank you and have a nice weekend smile

yum_salmon yum_shrimp yum_tamago yum_tuna

Space Pup

uhh, i can only confidently help with the fourth one;

most people don't eat all day before ayce but it can actually help grow your appetite
if you have a small snack an hour or two before !

other than that,,

1/ i live in Canada so it's like ?? with tips in the US. I suggest you ask your friend on
that one especially!

2/ 3/ i can't imagine asking for no mayo being a problem! the ayce bars i usually go
to actually have a menu; they don't just pop something in front of you to eat

so just avoid the ones with the mayo and octopus!