Welcome to Gaia! ::

Tipsy Nerd

I want to lose weight and start working out, but I'm a little unsure about how to start. I have a little bit of a motivation problem, but I feel I can work past that considering I really want to lose weight.

I would rather not go to the gym and would prefer to work out at home and/or outside in my area. So, any tips? Walking? Drinking tea? Any ideas for an at home work out? I'm really new to this so any help would be greatly appreciated. sweatdrop

Thanks in advance.

Tipsy Nerd

Dapper Gekko

For working out, you should really just try and find something you enjoy doing. There are a bunch of different things you can do, but you won't stick to it if you don't like it. Sometimes when I don't want to go to the gym I'll just do exercises at home like pilates or weights -- you can find a number of online training videos on YouTube. Healthy diet and moderate portion sizes are going to help you see those results.

Tipsy Nerd

Phoenix Songbird
For working out, you should really just try and find something you enjoy doing. There are a bunch of different things you can do, but you won't stick to it if you don't like it. Sometimes when I don't want to go to the gym I'll just do exercises at home like pilates or weights -- you can find a number of online training videos on YouTube. Healthy diet and moderate portion sizes are going to help you see those results.

I enjoy walking and swimming a lot so I think I'm gonna start doing those.
I've never tried pilates, but I'm going to look into it since I've heard/seen a lot of people doing it.

How long do you usually exercise for? I was thinking about doing 30 minute walks. (I have a dog so I can always take him with me on my walks too)

Dapper Humorist

Thirty minute walks won't really make a huge difference to your weight, thirty minutes of running however might.