Welcome to Gaia! ::

Powerful Spirit

7,200 Points
  • Demonic Associate 100
  • Millionaire 200
  • Elysium's Gatekeeper 100
I'm someone who has no idea what to do. I have a bachelor's degree in Networking, but realized far too late that I was paying for nothing but a piece of paper. My college courses taught me nothing except fundamentals and some terminology. My personal experience with IT includes little more than a bit of hardware installation on my PC, Windows use, and hooking devices up to our home network. I'm at a loss for what to do next. I know I need certifications to get an IT career, but I need to know what I'm doing in order to get them and function at an IT job. Where do I go to learn what I need? I have no connections, no one in the computer industry who can help me, I'm completely on my own with no resources. Someone, anyone who is starting out or experienced in this field, please give me your advice. Thanks!

Magical Neko

24,275 Points
  • Survivor 150
  • Nerd 50
  • Magical Girl 50
User Image - Blocked by "Display Image" Settings. Click to show.
I'm in the same boat with my degree. I have an Associates in Web and Interactive Media Design.
Unfortunately, most of what coding I learned focused on Flash, which is no longer industry standard.
What little I learned of HTML and CSS is great and all, but I know nothing of PHP or SQL,
so connecting to servers or setting up databases is beyond me. And no one wants to hire someone
just to do the pretty layout stuff, you need to know it all. I feel you, I wish I could help.
A lot of this type of stuff is easier to learn on the job, but you can't get a job without the experience.

Powerful Spirit

7,200 Points
  • Demonic Associate 100
  • Millionaire 200
Neko Athena
I'm in the same boat with my degree. I have an Associates in Web and Interactive Media Design.
Unfortunately, most of what coding I learned focused on Flash, which is no longer industry standard.