Welcome to Gaia! ::

Revered Guardian

26,550 Points
  • Lavishing Romantic 250
  • Egg Hunt Master 250
  • Unfortunate Abductee 175
Has anyone here studied any dead languages like Latin, Coptic, Demotic,Aramaic? Was it difficult to learn or did you pick it up fairly easily? I'm interested in learning Demotic, which for a time was the language of the ancient Egyptians. And possibly after that, I was thinking of trying my hand at Latin.If you speak Latin, how difficult was it to learn? Do you use it on a semi-regular or regular basis?

Fanatical Phantom

I studied Latin briefly when I was eleven but since I was only eleven with no income and we had dial-up internet at the time, I didn't have much I could actually use as learning tools.

However now that I'm double majoring in history and archaeology, I should take a Latin class or two in school, since it would relate to my education.

TasteChaos's King

Duck

I did Latin for 4 months before I decided I absolutely hated it.
It was 7 years ago though :c

I still remember 1 little poem, or half of it actually
That I use to impress people XD

Quotable Genius

12,425 Points
  • Clambake 200
  • Gender Swap 100
  • Sausage Fest 200
I've studied Latin for one year and ancient Greek for three years.

Revered Guardian

26,550 Points
  • Lavishing Romantic 250
  • Egg Hunt Master 250
Padawan Brittany
I studied Latin briefly when I was eleven but since I was only eleven with no income and we had dial-up internet at the time, I didn't have much I could actually use as learning tools.

However now that I'm double majoring in history and archaeology, I should take a Latin class or two in school, since it would relate to my education.
Cool. Yea that could help xD. I'm wanting to get into archeology as a career as well.
How is Latin a dead language? Catholics use it, and in Europe they still teach it in schools.

Quotable Genius

12,425 Points
  • Clambake 200
  • Gender Swap 100
  • Sausage Fest 200
DruggedChicken