Welcome to Gaia! ::

Tenacious Glitch

24,050 Points
  • Partygoer 500
  • Perfect Attendance 400
  • Newbie Helper 100
This is my first time posting in this forum so here it goes. I'm 26, female, and have been using a wheelchair and crutches since I was 14. I was doing laundry and fell down some stairs. I used to have spasms in my legs for eight hours non-stop until my neurologist that I've had since I was a kid for my childhood epilepsy told me to try Benedryl. So my spasms occur all the time all over my body, but are less severe most of the time. My long list of invisible disabilities are Fibromyalgia, Osteoarthritis, torn ligaments in both ankles, chronic back pain, and muscle spasms. Recently I've had Mono and now an elevated liver. I'm facing a lot of pain lately especially since I got Mono back in October.

My three questions to any other Gaian that has to face an invisible disability are:
How do you cope with the emotional stuff that comes with the physical pain?
Have you had to make adjustments in your lifestyle?
What kind of invisible disability are you facing? (I love reading stories.)

Obsessive Shoujo

18,750 Points
  • Millionaire 200
  • Wall Street 200
  • Cool Cat 500
Mine aren't nearly as severe and as much as yours.. but talking to people, internet, gaming, working to the best of my abilities and to some extent yes which causes me great anxiety.

Tenacious Glitch

24,050 Points
  • Partygoer 500
  • Perfect Attendance 400
  • Newbie Helper 100
Kirenisia
Mine aren't nearly as severe and as much as yours.. but talking to people, internet, gaming, working to the best of my abilities and to some extent yes which causes me great anxiety.

Aww you get anxiety from talking to people? I had a friend that had that. I'm a shy person myself in real life and I have like a phobia around crowds. Thanks for sharing your story. I hope posting on Gaia doesn't cause you too much stress.

Obsessive Shoujo

18,750 Points
  • Millionaire 200
  • Wall Street 200