Welcome to Gaia! ::

I am ready to dedicate my life to being an artist. I eventually want to go into comics. Pretend I have no experience whatsoever. Where should I begin?

(Sorry for the short post, but I felt a wall of text was not needed.)
dont get married and dont have kids

Benevolent Cat

15,325 Points
  • Beta Gaian 0
  • V-Day 2011 Event 100
  • Gaian 50
Begin with drawing all sorts of things from observation.

Tipsy Phantom

7,050 Points
  • Partygoer 500
  • Noob wrangler 100
  • Signature Look 250
Attend a college (not necessarily an art school) that has a good art program (reviews made by students) for the field that would apply to what you want to do that is also reasonable for your financial situation. If you feel responsible enough to properly deal with financial aid/student loans then consider the possibility of attending a highly reviewed art school. (REMINDER: art school is extremely expensive.) And don't whine and cry about your life drawing classes because you think they're boring, THEY'RE GOOD FOR YOU!

I find going to college an easier experience than learning everything on your own because most professors have at least some knowledge or experience in what you want to do and how to get there. Hope this helps. :3
Jhun the Black

I laughed when I saw this, I used to think the same way. But Scott McCloud disproves this theory and I'm supremely happy to be in a relationship with someone that loves helping me out at conventions and keeping me organized.

Having a significant other, best friend, partner, workslave is pretty essential to comics actually. If you're going to go to a convention alone, you're going to have a piss poor time, and in comics, you really do need to attend conventions.

That said, if you knew nothing about comics, you ought to take several trips to libraries and bookstores and read up. Anything, everything. Try to disassemble comics. What makes them work, what doesn't. Why does X story appeal to you, but Y story doesn't?