Welcome to Gaia! ::

I've been dieting for two years now, though for the past year I've just been maintaining.

Before:

User Image

User Image

After:

User Image

User Image

I owe most of my success to eating right. I don't count calories (though I do keep track in a vague way). Counting calories is stressful to me, and I don't think it's as vital to keep to a certain exact number.

I eat only vegetables (but not potatoes) fruits (not bananas) the occasional nuts, lots of water (3 litres a day. Make this easy by buying a 750ml bottle of water and keep refilling it, four times a day or more) and plenty of fibre.

In the morning I like to have oats with some wheat germ added for fibre. I add different fruits to it, depending on what's available. Apples, pears, strawberries, blackberries, raspberries. Sometimes I add yoghurt. It's quite delicious, keeps you full for a long time, and isn't fattening.

I usually have an assortment of vegetables with salad for lunch and supper, which I spice up with garlic, chillis, sometimes some feta, or half an avocado pear, or some fish or chicken.

For snacks I have fruit, or a little handful of nuts.

I also exercise using weights, and ab and cardio workouts, which I often spread throughout the day due to the fact that I have to work.

I almost never cheat. I have accepted that "cheat days" are not good for me, not because I expect to blow up like a balloon, but because it's hard to return to normal afterward. In my opinion, cheat days often ruin diets for people, because they don't want to diet after eating good, greasy food.

List off healthy things you like, incorporate them in your diet. Avoid anything cooked in oil (except olive oil, perhaps though I don't personally use this because I'm poor =P ). Remember that drinks add fat as much as meals. One can of coke contains so much sugar that if you had to eat that same amount of sugar raw, you'd vomit explosively.