Welcome to Gaia! ::

o0 effervescence 0o
I just want to hear peoples opinions on Tim Burton's musical.

i love all his movies my fav is The Nightmare Before Christmas and sweeny todd made me laugh lol idk why it just did u could tell the blood was tomato juice

Benevolent Gaian

8,200 Points
  • Person of Interest 200
  • Conversationalist 100
  • Forum Sophomore 300
NO. It is not TIM BURTON'S musical, it is Stephen Sondheim's. Tim Burton just did a film adaptation of it. I've loved Tim Burton and his crazy nest that he calls hair since I was a little girl, but this is NOT a Tim Burton musical.

/end rant.

That said, I rather enjoyed it. Despite not being singers by profession, they all managed sing the roles very well, and I was very satisfied with Burton's vision of the scenery and costumes. Depp wasn't as... powerful as I'd expected, but he did well enough and was effectively creepy, even if he did rely on the 'batman growl' a little too much.

As for Helena Bonham Carter.... I have mixed feelings. She brought a different interpretation of Mrs. Lovett to the table, but after seeing her in a few other things I can't help but wonder if she just plays the same type of sympathetic yet coarse waif every time. What I hate even more are the people who saw the film and think 'oh, Mrs. Lovett is a beautiful character and you have to have a beautiful voice to sing the role!' because hell no she isn't. She's a despicable character and you're supposed to feel sort of happy and guilty that you feel happy when he throws her into the oven.

Toby as a child was interesting, and it sort of worked until they autotuned him in 'not while I'm around.' If that wasn't autotuning... then that one part was just vocally awkward.

I LOVED Allan Rickman as the judge. That was just... heart I wish they'd kept the judge's solo in, although I imagine Rickman would have never gotten a job again.

Gracious Genius