Welcome to Gaia! ::

I've self injured a lot. It's an addiction for me, the way I handle a tough situation because I'm not good at dealing with my emotions. I also know a lot of other people who have done it. Have any of you self injured or attempted suicide? What do you think about self injury, and people who do it?

6,600 Points
  • Befriended 100
  • Friendly 100
  • Flatterer 200
I did when I was much younger and on the edge of seriously losing it, but I got better and am left the scars.

Kayteaa_Ann
What do you think about self injury, and people who do it?

Ohh this won't end well... *backs away slowly*
The last time I did it was a week or two ago. It was the first time in 5 or 6 months. I'm getting better at controlling it but I don't know if I'll stop completely.
Many people see it as a cry for attention. I was never a cutter when I was growing up (that wasn't really around when I was in high school) but I did attempt suicide several times using various methods. Hell, I'm 27 and I was recently hospitalized for a suicide attempt last year.

I can't promise that things will get better, because you will always have emotional problems in your life. But maybe there is hope in talking about them with people you truly trust.
I've never attempted suicide but I have plans for how to do it, when, where, and I've written notes on real bad nights.
I know things might not always get better and I'll always have problems but the thing is when I try to tell someone about them they tell me to get help and I can't do that. I will NOT let my parents and teachers know that I cut myself. I don't want them to treat me differently. I like having their trust and respect so I don't really have anyone to talk to.