Welcome to Gaia! ::

Treasure

10,950 Points
  • Object of Affection 150
  • Champion 300
  • Noble Shade 100
hey y'all!
i'm a high school student currently doing a project for my physiology class about ascorbic acid in cardiovascular tissue. however, when i try to research the topic, (i use google scholar) i have problems deciphering the abstracts into everyday language.

could someone give me tips on how to quickly learn "science lingo"?
perles
hey y'all!
i'm a high school student currently doing a project for my physiology class about ascorbic acid in cardiovascular tissue. however, when i try to research the topic, (i use google scholar) i have problems deciphering the abstracts into everyday language.

could someone give me tips on how to quickly learn "science lingo"?
Some of it is general science vocabulary, but the deeper you delve into a field the more words you'll find that don't quite mean what you think. Generally looking through the scientific literature is a feat reserved for those doing actual research and experimentation. The published research is not designed or meant to serve those doing school work reports. Texts books are what you want to use, then. Text books aim to bridge the gap between those with a lot of knowledge and those just starting, or who need a reference. Research papers are how experts talk to each other.

High-functioning Counselor

17,450 Points
  • Megathread 100
  • Alchemy Level 3 100
  • Tycoon 200
Most research papers are divided into parts and the abstract is the summary of those parts. Generally the abstract has the hypothesis, a little bit of the methods and results/conclusion.

If you've done a lab report they are a little like that.

Most of the research may be hard to interpret into everyday lingo because things like methods are usually specialized for the field. Each field has it's own lingo so their is usually a bit of a learning curve trying to figure out terms and abbreviations.