Welcome to Gaia! ::

Greedy Consumer

Im no expert or anything but Im wondering if theres any chance epigenetic factors, such as histones or chromatin, could force the dna to be overall excessive or inexcessive, thereby forcing the dna to be reduced or expanded upon.

Like what happens if theres too much histones trying to coil the dna, to the point where the dna cannot be tighter and it would break, would it then be repaired and elongated or would it abandon some histones to prevent a break?

Or if not enough chromatin for the dna, if the dna reduces its size.

If possible I'd like to know in reference of reproduction.

Also if theres too few histones, I figure itd just mean the dna is being expressed more.

But if histones and chromatin are monitored by dna anyways then epigenetic influences are actually indirect genetic influences, so I am assuming thats not the case. But it could be.

Enlighten me? With links if possible, so I can understand it with visuals I suppose.
Mutations mainly occur during DNA replication so you've got to split the strands and make copies and that anyway. By my understanding that rules it out.

It wouldn't really be useful though, as utilizing it would have to be a response and by the time you want mutants natural selection is already bearing down on you.

6,350 Points
  • Flatterer 200
  • Person of Interest 200
  • Hygienic 200
Transcriptionally active euchromatic regions are more prone to transcription-associated mutations, which are mutations that occur when the DNA is been transcribed.

Transcriptionally inactive heterochromatic regions become heavily methylated. Deamination of cytosine is a common reaction in which the amino group is replaced by a carbonyl group in cytosine. In a normal cytosine, deamination produces uracil which can be recognized by the repair system. However, a methylated cytosine that undergoes deamination will turn into thymine, which cannot be repaired as easily.