Welcome to Gaia! ::

If I'm not in the right forum, please report this thread to a moderator so that it can be moved. No need to get snooty about it, 'kay?

For those who don't know about it, Alexandria's Genesis is supposedly a mutation that gives human white skin that does not tan or burn, purple eyes (not violet, purple), long life spans, and completely efficient bodies (as in, it produces no waste and reabsorbs all possible waste). More information can be found here.

I stumbled upon this looking up some information one day about purple eyes. And I read about it and, obviously, it sounds like a folktale to me. But as a scientist, I acknowledge the possibility of many things that have not been discovered yet. This could be a very exaggerated tale about something which we've never seen before.

However, its validity is very suspect to me...first of all, the page I linked you to is supposedly the first website with info about it...and its a fanfiction page. Secondly, I can't find any sort of legitimate documentation about the girl "Alexandria". And there's no real information about Alexandria's genesis period really.

This brings me to my actual point: this seeming more like folklore than anything else, am I the only one who finds this to be a tad bit racist? This is supposed to be the perfect human, and they have white skin...Not to mention the whole "The most startling aspect of the biracial "Genesis" children is that they take on a more Euro-American appearance" is suspect. I'm usually not the type to play the race card, but the story has a lot of Euro-centric ideologies in it that was commonplace in the time period this tale supposedly popped up (and technically is still commonplace to this very day...but people tend to not want to admit that).

DISCUSS:
~ Whether you think Alexandria's Genesis is real, a folktale, or something made up for a fanfiction
~ Is Alexandria's Genesis scientifically possible? (I say probably not, but who knows)