Welcome to Gaia! ::

I have been playing with these ideas for quite a long time, and I don’t quite know what to do with them, so I turn to the Internet, and to you.

I graduated from high school this past year and I felt that I had no plan for my life. I had told everyone I was going to go into fashion design, but I decided against that and left myself to rot in my parent’s basement with no other plan.
I have been a practitioner in Pagan religion for the better part of 5 years now. I have a strong interest in ghosts, paranormal occurrences and pagan spirituality. I wanted to know if there is a degree out there where I could use all of these talents and interests for the future.
My final desire is to feel as though I am helping people, though not necessarily in a hands-on medical field. I was thinking of something along the line of psychology, but I do not have faith in the psychological “facts” that they teach. I’d like to be able to sit down with someone and talk about their experiences and try to council them through it with a non-medical outcome. The only spiritual degrees I can seem to find are Christian Ministry and that is not what I am looking for. I’d also like to get a radio show, but that’s another thing.

The problem is, I come from a Christian family and I don’t think I could have picked a worse time to finally make these plans for my future. My father is on the religious warpath, truly believing that the end is coming and we all have to prepare for the second coming of Christ. I have kept my spiritual preferences secret from him for quite a while but I don’t know how I can come up with a reason he should help pay for my schooling for something he believes is the work of the devil.

So my questions are:
Does anyone know of a degree that I could seek?
How would I go about dealing with my father?
Why not go into Philosophy or Religious Studies? Those are the only majors that come to me off the top of my head.