Welcome to Gaia! ::

Lunatic

i've been growing out a pixie cut for several months now and my hair has gotten
a lot longer but i'd like to have shoulder length hair and i'm looking for pretty fast results
(preferable in a month or less is at all possible) does anyone have any tips/advice?

here's my hair as of now

User Image

Eloquent Vampire

You can't. Your DNA controls your hair growth rate, and for most people, it's half an inch a month. Some get more, some get less, but there is no way to make your hair grow faster than it's programmed to. If your hair is programmed for half an inch a month, you'll never get one inch a month.

Yeah, you'll never get from your current length to your shoulders in a month. Absolutely, scientifically, physically impossible.

But you can encourage it's maximum growth rate in several ways. Take an over the counter multivitamin, some say biotin but I don't think it's necessary. Neither is prenatal, just a regular multivitamin is all you need. No chemical processes at all, coloring, bleaching, perms, etc. Deep condition the scalp and scalp massages can help. Drink lots of water, don't smoke, avoid excessive caffeine. Regular trims allow you to keep what growth you are getting instead of having it break off at the ends, or splits traveling up the hair shaft and making you need to have more length trimmed off each time. So you're getting the two steps forward, one step back effect with trims instead of two steps forward, two steps back allowing them to break off or split up too high. Make sense?

Lunatic

Jagger-Wolf
You can't. Your DNA controls your hair growth rate, and for most people, it's half an inch a month. Some get more, some get less, but there is no way to make your hair grow faster than it's programmed to. If your hair is programmed for half an inch a month, you'll never get one inch a month.

Yeah, you'll never get from your current length to your shoulders in a month. Absolutely, scientifically, physically impossible.