Welcome to Gaia! ::

You're severely allergic to animals, too?

YEP c: 1 100.0% [ 2 ]
Total Votes:[ 2 ]

Generous Donator

11,900 Points
  • Cash Grabber 500
  • Tycoon 200
  • Money Never Sleeps 200
I've been raising rats for three years, and I was pretty good at it.
But then one day my life decided to suck: I picked up one of my rats, and I began breaking out in hives, everywhere--and then the asthma attack. It was pretty unfortunate, really. Raising rats had been a hobby of mine for about four years, and my body just decided a life threatening allergy would be a good thing to develop
Blanket and Zeke are over two years old now, and I can't even be near their cage. I would like to spend time with them before they top off.
When I worked at an animal clinic, my coworker used to give me an allergy medication every day, and that made it so I could snuggle my rats right up against my cheek
What do you guys use? Anything non-drowsy, or over the counter?

Chatty Cat

12,000 Points
  • Cats vs Dogs 100
  • Sausage Fest 200
  • Team Edward 100
I have terrible sinus problems and violently allergic to cats, grass, dust, mold, sunshine (one of the perks to being a ginger I spose) and zyrtec worked for me until I developed sinusitis. (really horrible nosebleeds, dry sinuses....Ugh). I heard claritin works really well and zyrtec worked really well for me for 3 years. I do own a cat, a med hair maine coon/tabby, and IM NOT ALLERGIC TO HER. Shocking since every other cat makes me wheeze. Look at your local supermarket and get somthing that has 24 hour, non drowsy on it, indoor outdoor stuff. That should help. Nobody likes being allergic to their pets. sad

Salyana's Wife

Loving Lover