Welcome to Gaia! ::

Devoted Inquisitor

Really interesting article on the idea that black animals are less likely to be adopted!

Link!
That's really interesting. Thanks for the article!

Muscular Kitten

I've been volunteering at my local animal shelter for going on five years now and we've certainly never had a problem with adopting out black cats. I don't work with the dogs.
It's the fat (I mean morbidly obese here) and 5+ y/o cats that stay the longest.

Devoted Inquisitor

Dippoldism
I've been volunteering at my local animal shelter for going on five years now and we've certainly never had a problem with adopting out black cats. I don't work with the dogs.
It's the fat (I mean morbidly obese here) and 5+ y/o cats that stay the longest.

Poor kitties. I can see why that might happen though! It's hard to read the personality of an obese pet.

9,800 Points
  • Invisibility 100
  • Peoplewatcher 100
  • Full closet 200
Ive noticed black and dark amimals tent to stay at the shelter longer but I feel its more because they are in metal cages and the black reflects off the metal and makes the cages look dark so people tend not to notice the animal in there. Just my observation.

Black cats and dogs with brightly cokored blankets tend to get adopted faster than a black animal with a dark blanket or no blanket

Devoted Inquisitor

Shanna66
Ive noticed black and dark amimals tent to stay at the shelter longer but I feel its more because they are in metal cages and the black reflects off the metal and makes the cages look dark so people tend not to notice the animal in there. Just my observation.

Black cats and dogs with brightly cokored blankets tend to get adopted faster than a black animal with a dark blanket or no blanket

You should keep notes and see what the statistics actually say! That would be super interesting!

6,850 Points
  • Signature Look 250
  • Dressed Up 200
  • Citizen 200