Welcome to Gaia! ::

So, this is my first year doing NaNoWriMo and I was wondering how many chapters you could actually make out of 50,000 words. I'm going to be working on my outline later and I wanted to know because it would really help.

6,450 Points
  • Citizen 200
  • Person of Interest 200
  • Peoplewatcher 100
I think that fully depends on how long you want to make your chapter. I have a little over 7K words right now and have maybe 5 chapters, maybe less depending on how I put it together later.

Hallowed Prophet

11,850 Points
  • Friendly 100
  • Survivor 150
  • Timid 100
There isn't really an answer to your question. It all depends on the length of your chapters.

I was reading on the NaNo site that 50,000 words is roughly 175 pages.
Master of Poisons Ryaz
I think that fully depends on how long you want to make your chapter. I have a little over 7K words right now and have maybe 5 chapters, maybe less depending on how I put it together later.

Oh ok, yeah I didn't think of that. Thanks!

Noob

I'm dotting over short chapters because my story calls for it, but on average for me 50k words is only like 6 chapters. sad

Devoted Cleric

19,625 Points
  • Battle: Cleric 100
  • Perfect Attendance 400
  • Jolly Roger 50
I've seen books which have some chapters that are less than a page long...
Chapters can be any length you want them to be; less than a page, 2 pages, 5 page, 30 pages.
Just put them in where they make sense to you.

Big Smoker

chapters don't have anything to do with word count, just where the break in the story seems natural. :/
you should only worry about your word count after you finish writing and check to see what it is.
or if it's the last week and you have half your book written.

Wheezing Hoarder

10,550 Points
  • Friendly 100
  • Generous 100
  • Tycoon 200
X-Yami-no-Ko-X
There isn't really an answer to your question. It all depends on the length of your chapters.