Welcome to Gaia! ::

I'm new to NaNoWriMo, and only signed up about 10 minutes ago...

I have a basic plot idea, which I can share with you if you wish, but no planned characters, settings, or really anything past the basic idea.

What should I do?

HELP!
Usually, people have their stuff outlined beforehand so when it comes down to write, they can do it without problems. But it's okay. You should outline and really think about what you want to write, character, setting, etc wise before. You're a little late, but it just means you'll have to work extra harder to catch up. You can do it!

Beloved Fairy

First your basic idea.
Who are the characters?
What genre do you think this falls under?
What is the primary conflict?
How is that conflict resolved?
Holy jeez, you're 10 days late! You better get writing! I guess the first thing you should do is figure out what characters match your plotline, and what setting matches your plotline. After that.. just let your pen take control.

Or you could be like me, and be a "pantser" - just write down whatever comes to mind.
I have a basic plot idea and four of the main characters thought out, but setting is going to be hard I think.

The story is a fantasy/adventure, but I want to set it in a medieval type world, and I don't want to mess up by not having a clear idea of how the villages and towns are laid out.

That being said, I am tempted to just wing it and see how it goes.
First of all, when I wrote my first one last year, I started over a week late and did it almost entirely by hand while I was in field training for the Army. I finished with about 30 minutes to spare, but you know what that means? It means you can do it!