Welcome to Gaia! ::

Deadly Phantom

11,750 Points
  • Perfect Attendance 400
  • Partygoer 500
  • Super Tipsy 200
I would like to pick up and learn the Viola a bit more, but I don't own one. I was wondering if anyone could give me insight on how much they are, what kinds to get, the different sizes, and where/how is the best way to start learning? I've had some practice on my sister's violin, but it's a smaller one, and a rental. I'm already familiar with string instruments, I've been playing lead electric guitar for about 6 years now, so my fingers are used to the feel.

I'm renting a Violin in the next 2 weeks, I called the music shop and told them I wanted to rent one, they said it's gonna be $22 a month, and they got good ones for rent, better than the ones they got for sale, but they were out of stock, so they said they'd special order one that will be here in 1 to 2 weeks.

Can anyone give me some advice on starting out? Can anyone explain to me about the instrument itself? Like, the sliding thing I don't even know what that's called, but I practice on my sister's mini violin sometime. How much are string replacements? Are different types better for harmonic sounds, like orchestras, or are there certain types better suited for solo lead. Things like that.

7,250 Points
  • Happy Birthday! 100
  • Citizen 200
  • Forum Sophomore 300
Well, for starters, you probably don't want to buy a viola/violin until you KNOW you want to play that instrument. It's harder to sell them.
So, you probably want to rent a 4/4 viola/violin.
They're pretty cheap, and the viola's really easy to pick up.
It doesn't really matter for beginners, which type to get.
But it's completely different than playing the electric guitar. There aren't frets on a violin, and you're yanked around a different way.
Hope I helped ^^

Deadly Phantom

11,750 Points
  • Perfect Attendance 400
  • Partygoer 500
  • Super Tipsy 200
xXNoriPrimXx