Welcome to Gaia! ::

i am a fellow guitar player, ive been playing for about a 11 months and i want to write my own shtuff and i want it to be good sounding, but i just cant get anything down.

i was hoping you all could share with me your own process to making your own songs. heck, share with me some of your music you've made, id love to hear it!!
... bump?
Well I have been playing Electric Guitar for a while! My help to you is write your song first then add in the music! My band is a hit right now! And net Saturday we are going to try and be signed toa label! YAYAY~~!!!
well, you can do it one of two ways, write the music first, or write the lyrics first...or maybe you could try to do both at the same time.

but what I do is basically mess around until you find a riff/chord progression that you like,..maybe a few that you like. Work around that riff/chord progression and figure out the basic 'sound' of the song. Figure out a chorus, verses, maybe a bridge or two.
once you have this you can make changes to it, like instead of playing a chord in one spot you can play an arpegio or a small rythm fill.
allso try and break up the main chords and riff by putting in a few filler notes..a good example is metallica ( master of puppets is a good one.)

and yeah...other than that you have to fend for yourself.
hope it helps!
missie_reddie
Well I have been playing Electric Guitar for a while! My help to you is write your song first then add in the music! My band is a hit right now! And net Saturday we are going to try and be signed toa label! YAYAY~~!!!

what type of band?
and do you have a link?
I had the same problem, it turns out I just needed to write about what I knew. Anyway, the way I write I pick a title - with a vauge tune and concept in mind - and challenge myself to write a song out of it.

Hope it helped!