Welcome to Gaia! ::

Moonlight Agony

Page 1-3 should have Recs for those bands.

As for Rap, I say Jedi Mind Tricks, MF Doom, Edan, or Aesop Rock.

Thank you lovely.
<3
SmilingBomb
OMG. Just what I was looking for~
Anywho; I would love recommendations for bands like: Death Cab for Cutie, The Postal Service, The Decemberists, and all that soft-rock/pop goodness.

I'm also looking for more good hip-hop [?] music like; Kanye West, Common, Peaches [if they're even considered that]. I'm fairly new to this whole liking hip-hop thing, so deal with my lack of knowledge. [I do know, that for reasons beyond me, I love the really sexist 90's rap, like Notorious BIG and stuff~]

[[Also, I'm looking for a website I found a long time ago where you'd type in a band name and a giant web would pop up that links similar bands....does anyone know the link?]

For Kanye: Lupe Fiasco, El-P,

For Common: Talib Kweli, Mos Def, Blackstar

And other stuff: Living legends, Cannibal ox, Heiroglyphics, Del the Funkee homosapien, Mr. Lif, cLOUDDEAD
SmilingBomb
Anywho; I would love recommendations for bands like: Death Cab for Cutie, The Postal Service, The Decemberists, and all that soft-rock/pop goodness.

I'm sure you may love The Umbrellas, Psapp, Small Sins, Say Hi to Your Mom, The Red Paintings, Persephone's Bees, Mates of State, Islands, Brazilian Girls, The Books, 8mm, and Masha Qrella. Ooh, and The Cardigans. ^_^

[edit- As for the website you're looking for, I know what you're talking about, but it's been so long, I can't remember the name. I'll see what I can dig up though...) ]
[EDIT2- I think this is the site, though it's changed dramatically from what I remember: http://audiomap.tuneglue.net/ ]

Good thread, btw! ^.^
... And I wish I had expertise at something. emo Oh well... I know a lot of post punk, though I wouldn't call myself an expert (because I could name a lot of important bands I still need to get into). xp
SmilingBomb