Welcome to Gaia! ::

Favorite breakfast food?

Total Votes:[ 0 ]
This poll closed on January 3, 2005.
No longer accepting new votes.
1 2 >

First of all I'm not a christian..not exactly. I'm looking forward to becoming a christian but right nor I'm just studying the bible and I've seen lot's of places in the bible that say that Saturday is the day of rest and worship not Sunday. I have seen no other place in the bible that says that the date should be changed to Sunday. So why do Christians go to church on Sunday?

Also alot of Christians eat pork and by bible standards 'unclean meat'. Many christians say that they can do it because in Peter's dream God used unclean meat in a metaphor but later in the bible it clearly says that God meant that Peter needed to preach the word to all people, even gentiles which were thought of as 'un-clean'.

So..can anyone help me out..
Hum-De-dum
I think I've heard of a religion that follows these things but not sure..
Quote:
I think I've heard of a religion that follows these things but not sure..

Firstly, stop bumping. Secondly, yes, there are two to be exact: Islam and Judaism. Well, not precisely. The day of rest starts Friday at sundown and ends on sundown Saturday.
Saterday is the sabbath in Judaism. Jesus broke the sabbath and made it Sunday, thus Christian church is on Sunday. As to pork, well back in the time the bible was written pork was a very unclean meat. Pigs were used to clean the garbage and waste of the city and there were alot of diseases associated with them. But nowadays they are much cleaner so people can eat them and not get sick.
Jesus didn't break the Sabbath day and made it Sunday. Christians have the Sabbath day on Sunday, because of Christ's death, and on the third day (which was a Sunday), Christ rose from the dead. This is why Christians have the Sabbath day on Sunday.