Welcome to Gaia! ::

Wheezing Smoker

7,600 Points
  • Risky Lifestyle 100
  • Tycoon 200
  • Conversationalist 100
i'm in my second year of my interpreters program, and i've come across a lot of Deaf individuals over the courses i've taken. my asl 3 professor was Deaf, even. and i don't think i've ever learned more about the language and it's culture than i did that semester. when i decided to take asl it was a fluke, i didn't think i would be an interested in it as i am now, and i'm happy that i found it by accident. the culture is amazing, the people are understanding and helpful (most of them, at least; there's assholes everywhere) and i really enjoy the work i'm doing/am learning over the years.

i guess, the one thing i'd say i had to get used to was the way they talk. i've heard a Deaf person speak before but they all speak differently, just like everyone signs differently. some barely open their mouths at all, others shout so loud the entire room can hear them. they can't, they have no idea what they sound like. it's a little jarring at first but i've gotten used to it, even encouraged it.

Witty Genius

9,600 Points
  • Generous 100
  • Consumer 100
  • Contributor 150
Black Lust Perfume
CaseyCrazed
I used to have a deaf neighbor. He was really nice. The only problem I had was sometimes I'd forget that he was deaf and I'd have to remember to use my hands. I know some ASL.. And my sister was(or is?) taking a course on ASL. : ]

Haha, my fiancée sometimes forgot that I cannot hear which I find it funny. But he is now improving his ASL so we can communication much better and easier.

In my thoughts, Deaf or not, still a Human. User Image - Blocked by "Display Image" Settings. Click to show.

gaia_kittenstar Exactly! : P

Athier