Welcome to Gaia! ::

Earlier today I was in town and I was chilling out, reading the local newspaper on the roof of a parking deck cause it has a nice breeze and a great view. Then I see this dude who had to be 17 or 18 out of the corner of my eye and is walking towards me. He's extremely paranoid and keeps asking me if I'm a cop (tbh even if I was, why would I say yes to that?). He's bothering me so I say for him to please go somewhere else. He says that I sound like I'm trying to isolate myself from people. Then he takes out this blunt and asks me if I smoke weed and I say no, he keeps asking me why and I say again for him to please go away. The smoke keeps blowing in my face and I ask him again to please go away, go somewhere else and smoke because I want to be alone and he pretty much says I'm a b***h and that he doesn't get why I'm being so mean cause 'he's up here trying to be nice to me'. I was there first, he approached ME, I didn't initiate the conversation. I just got pissed off and ended up leaving even though I didn't want to.

So, in a situation like this; when does being nice end and the mean begin when someone won't leave you alone? Would this be considered harassment?

*Edit* When I asked him to go somewhere else and smoke, I meant somewhere else on the parking deck roof. As in not next to me.
If you have to ask if it was harassment the answer is no, it wasn't.

EDIT: No, smoking on a roof that everybody has access to isn't harassment if his smoke is blowing in your face or if he's trying to make conversation with you. If you didn't like his smoke you shouldn't have been downwind from it. I don't even smoke but if someone is trying to smoke outside so the smoke smell doesn't get on anything, you should leave them alone. "Can you go somewhere else with your smoke on this outside deck even though you aren't ruining the interior of the building and making dozens of people smell your smoke out here?" Gee, hmm, I don't know.

Playful Player

10,825 Points