Welcome to Gaia! ::

Lonely Consumer

20,300 Points
  • Consumer 100
  • Full closet 200
  • Signature Look 250
OK, I'm from British Columbia and we're stereotyped as being kind of hippies. And well, I am really big on recycling and I'd like to save the environment and all that if possible (I'm studying geography and hopefully climate change, so I can maybe help study situations).
So everyone out there who does their own groceries, please invest in some reusable clothe (or plastic so long as they're durable and made for being reusable) bags! Most local grocery stores here in Canada sell the clothe ones for 99 cents and in Ireland they sell durable plastic ones for the same price. I still have the bags I bought in Ireland 3 years ago and they are in great condition! They hold a ton of groceries (and now also my laundry).
If your parents do the groceries, please encourage them to use reusable bags as well! My family has been doing it since I was a child and I couldn't imagine shopping any other way! The fabric bags hold so much and usually have easier to carry handles - they're soft and don't twist around your hands like normal plastic bags.
i use normal plastic bags. and that's
what i'm going to continue to use... :}

Lonely Consumer

20,300 Points
  • Consumer 100
  • Full closet 200
  • Signature Look 250
I'm curious though, are they easier to use do you think? Also, do you throw them out right away? Please, at least find another use for them first. They do take years to decompose and aren't good for the environment. When I shop for things other then groceries I often end up with plastic bags and those get used to carry my gym shoes or as a garbage bag, etc.
whatever as i long as i get to keep my hummer
When I worked at a grocery store I always encouraged folks to buy and use our canvas bags, not so much because of environmental reasons but because those bags he sold could hold 30 lbs of groceries and not even strain.
My parents would never go for that.