Welcome to Gaia! ::

Hey guys. So I am taking an online class. The final is tomorrow. A girl in our class messaged all students saying we should meet up and take the final as a group. I joined in. I didn't see anything in the syllabus saying we couldn't do this. But is it legal? Like if we are caught, will I fail the class? I have never done this before, so I don't know.
I've done it for a few classes. If it doesn't say anything on the final and the professor didn't send a notice saying you can't do it, I'm pretty sure it isn't against the rules.
Robotic lalanono
I've done it for a few classes. If it doesn't say anything on the final and the professor didn't send a notice saying you can't do it, I'm pretty sure it isn't against the rules.

Ok, so if nothing was said, it's fine then?
it's gonna look fishy when the professor sees you all have the same fkin answers
Skataforeva
Robotic lalanono

Ok, so if nothing was said, it's fine then?

Pretty much. Keep in mind, though, there might be a chance your professor doesn't approve of it, but didn't bother to say anything, so if you're caught, you could still be penalized. I highly doubt this is the case, though. Most professors are very clear in their rules and regulations (in my experience). You're probably fine.
In my experience, unless they said that you can do it as a group, they will not approve of doing those tests as a group. My professors usually assume we all know that a test is something you do on your own unless otherwise stated.
How does that work?

Tipsy Capitalist

9,950 Points
  • Timid 100
  • Wall Street 200
  • Money Never Sleeps 200
Does your syllabus have any information on the school's academic integrity and plagiarism policy before or after the teacher's rules and the course content? If not, what does the student handbook say?
Well, it's legal in that academic dishonesty isn't a felony or misdemeanor and the police aren't going to come and arrest you.