Welcome to Gaia! ::

Shy Wife

Normally, I like to respond to problems and help, but it seems now I am at a breaking point and need help myself. I'm not very good with expressing myself, so if this comes out confusing please let me know.

My situation is this: I am 20, and recently went to one year of college before having to leave due to money issues. I live with my parents, and my bf moved in with us after his abusive parents eventually kicked him on the streets. He has a job, but I cannot for the life of me find one.

Why?

I have bad knees and hips, so bad that standing for even an hour hurts, and doing most physical activities is almost impossible. I need to lay down most of the day due to the pain it causes, and physical therapy didn't really.... fix it. Or relieve enough pain. I called to file for disability, but they refuse to help me until I give up looking for a job. When the woman called me back, she stated that because I was currently and actively looking for a job they would not help me by sending me money. I cannot afford to stop looking..... as I need to start repaying my loans on December 11th.

I've been trying to find online jobs, or even a pet-sitting job, but pet-sitting requires me having a permit half the time, which I don't have, or I don't get responses when I apply. As for online.... I have no idea where to start looking. Is it even feasible to get a job solely online? Am I being an idiot for trying?

I'm scared, because at this point I'll be unable to repay my loans. I also am near broke, and am getting closer to the 0 mark in my bank-account. What do I do? Does anyone have any advice?

Original Phantom

8,875 Points
  • Invisibility 100
  • Peoplewatcher 100
  • Noble Shade 100
Keep looking for employment, but search for under the table jobs. Basically things like House sitting, pet sitting, pet grooming, etc all for citizens instead of businesses. They pay by cash, you stay under the radar.