Welcome to Gaia! ::

I self harm and have been doing it since I was 16. I've been told about a billion different things from a billion different people. I was told if I cut, I would be placed in a mental hospital. I was told if I cut, I wouldn't unless I was suicidal. I cut myself very deep once and was committed despite telling them repeatedly I was not suicidal and wouldn't do it again. Then on another occasion, I cut almost the same, as deep as the one before and they gladly stitched it and sent me home.

I live in South Carolina and I don't know their laws but why do I get inconsistent information from different therapists, psychiatrists, social workers, etc.?
Firstly I am not a medical doctor nor do I have professional training in any area regarding mental health or self harm. If you're suicidal please seek help by calling 911.
Now with that disclaimer, from my own personal experience, self harm is a reaction to some form of stress. This could be anxiety or depression. Self harm isn't always synonymous with suicide or suicidal thoughts/tendencies. Course that all being said it's not a healthy response to stress and you should try to find other forms of response like a hobby or physical activity. Heck even keeping a rubber band around your wrist and snapping it when you get the urge to cut can be helpful. I hope this helps you in some form or another.

Dapper Gaian

1,150 Points
  • Hygienic 200
  • Timid 100
  • Full closet 200
I'm going to repeat
"Firstly I am not a medical doctor nor do I have professional training in any area regarding mental health or self harm. If you're suicidal please seek help by calling 911."

Depends, I think.
My niece took a lot of pills, and she spent a night in a mental hospital.

You sound like you want to be sent to a psychiatric hospital?

Blessed Prophet