Welcome to Gaia! ::

Hello. So I'm a manager at a movie theater and we've been having issues with an employee lately. He's a great employee don't get me wrong, but as of recently he's been complaining about how much he hates it there and how he's "sick and tired" of it. It's a little irritating because he voices this out loud in front of other co-workers. He closes a lot, that's pretty much all he does and I think that might be the root of the problem. I've told him to speak to the manager in charge of the scheduling but he hasn't.
The current issue is that he has called out four times these past two months. He says he's sick or something happened, but I know it isn't true. He told someone something and then did a 180 and told me another different story today. He could eventually get fired for this.
He totally screwed our night shift today. A few people are irritated with him. As a manager I care for my employees and I've tried talking to him. Today I told him what the consequences of his actions would be. I asked him to come in at least for a couple of hours. I feel like I need to have a serious conversation with him. I've gone through a rut where I've felt unmotivated and hated work, but got through it. I just sort of did, but I don't think it'll work for him.
If anyone can give me some sort of advice on how to approach this issue and how to help motivate him. He also earns a hell lot more than the others so we hold him to higher standards. Maybe if we gave him more responsibilities so that he felt like he earned that pay?

Girl-Crazy Trickster

12,425 Points
  • Invisibility 100
  • Love Machine 150
  • Conventioneer 300
Perhaps the best thing would be to be frank with him? Maybe you could ask him why he has been behaving in the manner that which you described? It could be helpful for the employee to know that there is someone that is genuinely concerned with him.