11,900 Points
  • Megathread 100
  • Lavish Tipper 200
  • Person of Interest 200
Social Analyzer
Blood Valkyrie
xdivision_whitey
Blood Valkyrie
It is normal to push a child to be well educated in China.
It is NOT normal in China to physically abuse a child. Chinese people in general actually love children, like most people do. I'm going to assume this father will not be well loved in his community.
Norm hardly... it a Must! Most parent in asain countries go by the Tiger mom principle. those kids will Strive For the sky and Beyond. A student if not AB. Sports and what ever competition that can raise their child up a status. They I agree want the best of their offspring.

I'm aware of the tiger mom thing. I don't call it abuse, though, since Chinese children seem like normal happy children to me.

I doubt you met many Chinese.

I studied a lot of Chinese kids and the ones that are "abused" are anti-social. Based on the internet and what not.

It is rare to see an Asian where I live.

It's rare to see an Asian where you live, yet you claim to have studied a lot of Chinese kids.
Also you said the ones that are abused at anti-social. I never said that those who are abused are not. I just said that I don't consider the tiger mom thing to be 100% abuse.

Dangerous Businessman

4,600 Points
  • Tycoon 200
  • Popular Thread 100
  • Money Never Sleeps 200
China does it again stare

5,300 Points
  • Forum Sophomore 300
  • Forum Regular 100
  • Citizen 200
That's far too extreme for not doing homework. The father shouldn't have done that at all. He should talked to his child instead. Sure, he wants his child to do well but physically abusing the child isn't going to solve anything.

7,350 Points
  • Wall Street 200
  • Money Never Sleeps 200
  • Tycoon 200
Techn0boy96