Welcome to Gaia! ::

5,650 Points
  • Hygienic 200
  • Signature Look 250
  • Full closet 200
Arthemis_Pink
MegaTurkey
Cough/cold/flu meds shouldn't be antibiotics... and if you're talking pneumonia, you don't necessarily treat with broad spectrum antibiotics. :/

And the stomach upset caused by NSAIDS (such as aspirin or ibuprofen) are due to the inhibition of COX-1 (cyclo-oxygenase) - thereby inhibiting prostaglandin production, leading to the irritation of gastric mucosa.

Oops. Sorry. I was referring to the cough meds.

Usually, you shouldn't need to treat your average cough and cold/flu with antibiotics but if you get a secondary bacterial infection then...it's time to get antibiotics.

iPYGG

Eh...I'm studying in Singapore.

I was hoping we could get some lay people here so I know what their concerns. Apparently, I fail at understanding what lay people think and how to explain stuff to them

My courses aren't that hard but it's a pain to memorise all the drug effects, names, interactions etc etc.

Not too sure why clarithromycin causes GI irritation but I always thought it's because it's slightly acidic or it has something to do with its lactone ring structure or something.

Cutie-Pie

Cool! I'm studying pharmacy in the US, though I'm questioning my career choice.

I feel like all I've done so far is memorization (and I'm a pretty bad student to boot sweatdrop )

So far haven't covered antibiotics yet but doing a bit of research, perhaps clarithromycin causes its GI problems due to the circulation which the macrolides exhibit. Not sure because like I said haven't been taught that yet.

5,650 Points
  • Hygienic 200
  • Signature Look 250
  • Full closet 200
iPYGG
Cool! I'm studying pharmacy in the US, though I'm questioning my career choice.

I feel like all I've done so far is memorization (and I'm a pretty bad student to boot sweatdrop )