Welcome to Gaia! ::

Nuglord's Partner

Super Poster

Note: This isn't a thread about violence in video games and some correlation to IRL or whatever.

I'm just curious what some opinions are about this.
Basically what I'm talking about here is the moral implications of taking a certain role in a video game. For example, playing an evil character in Fable or being a pirate in EVE Online. I have some experience with the latter, and I see a lot of people make implications about your personal life because you blew them up in a video game, as if they believe you fly around in a spaceship IRL blowing up other people.

The same thing kind of goes for games like WoW or League where "fat neckbeard" comments are pretty common.

I think the real implication of comments like this is that the person making them is far too emotionally invested in the game. Do you think there is a correlation between the role you choose in video games, and the kind of person you are IRL?

Ruthless Rogue

None whatsoever.

Dapper Dabbler

6,150 Points
  • Tipsy 100
  • Invisibility 100
  • Money Never Sleeps 200
no

bad guys are just ******** cool
Lol Eve Online. Blow up a mission runner, get called a sociopath.

Friendly Fairy

I think you're asking two different questions here. I'll do my best to answer them.

-Are there moral implications for choosing an evil character over a good or neutral one?
I don't think so. The fact that the game presents the option to be an evil character means that they intend for people to play an evil character. It's written into the game universe. It's really no different playing the hero vs. playing the villain, the story just gets told from a different perspective.

-Is there a correlation between the character you choose and who you are IRL?