Welcome to Gaia! ::

Benevolent Bloodsucker

VermisMysteriis
Viral_Catastrophe
Mallophe
Viral_Catastrophe
Well, it really can be rather difficult for those who don't speak it as a native language. I'm Chinese myself, and I've seen quite a few of my classmates struggling with the class offered at my school. I would be happy to teach you the language. Of course, it's been more than ten years since I permanantly moved to the US, but I still speak it fluently enough to be a tutor.

Wo keyi shuo yi dian er zhong wen, danshi wo bu zhidao hen duo. See it's like broken Chinese, I studied for a year and a half so I know some basics. Thank you so much, I hope it's not a bother.

Whoops, couldn't get back to you at all yesterday. Way too busy.
Well, your basics seem to be deadon just from that one sentence. But I have to ask you this. How good are you at reading and writing Chinese characters? Because while your pinying is very good, you should also know how to type, write and read simplified characters. (Unless you're going to Taiwan, Hong Kong or Macau, you shouldn't bother with traditional. And most people who first learn simplified can take a few good stabs at traditional anyway. It's just a bunch of extra strokes.)

It's much easier to go from learning tradition to learning simplified. Going the other way around is a massive headache, I heard.
I learned traditional characters, and I can't for the life of me read simplified. Some things are just so simplified that it's utterly ridiculous.

Simplified to Traditional is quite a bit easier since you can see how the simplified that you are familiar with came about from the traditional.
From personal experience, when I moved from Taiwan into mainland China, it was a pain at first (there were some characters I kept confusing, and still confuse to this day), but I learned most of it pretty quickly. I cannot for the life of me imagine trying to go from China to TW.

Dangerous Darling

7,650 Points
  • Partygoer 500