Welcome to Gaia! ::

11,500 Points
  • The Perfect Setup 150
  • Sausage Fest 200
  • Hive Mind 200
Hello people of Gaia International.

I am studying in Japan to later become an EFL teacher here, and possibly later an ESL teacher if I move back to the US.

Anyways, I was looking at websites to try for some under the counter kinds of jobs of teaching as a private tutor. On this site I noticed a lot of Second Language English speakers offering to teach.

Now here is my question. When you are looking for a Language teacher, would most of you care whether the teacher was a native speaker or non native speaker of the language?

I used to hate the idea of having a non native speaker teaching me a language, but then realized that at least a non native speaker would understand the same problems you have with learning the language rather than a native speaker.

What do you all think?
Well, here English tutoring is fairly 'common' in a sense, for the final year of high school. I'm actually looking for one myself. sweatdrop

Even though English isn't my first language, I still need one to be able to pass adequately well. >.<

I look for experience, qualifications, and appearance. xP Always important. And yes, my mum's requirement is that it has to be a white native person... >.<
Roseflare
I am studying in Japan to later become an EFL teacher here, and possibly later an ESL teacher if I move back to the US.
Then you've got it all a**-backwards.

You're going to teach English as a FIRST language in Japan, and as a SECOND language in the US? rolleyes

I think a native English speaker can teach a different language to other English-speakers, and that's fine. If they're good, they'll still lag behind in pronunciation, but they might surpass a native speaker in other areas, having learned the language formally.