Welcome to Gaia! ::

So when I was twelve, I decided I wanted to have a penpal, and I met some great people from around the world. I really liked talking to one boy though, he was Kwan Yang Woo from South Korea, I learned some interesting about South Korea and Korean Culture from him. Eventually he kind of disappeared because he wanted to concentrate harder on his studies.

I've had some bad experiences though, I remember one kid wanted me to help him sell stuff by shipping US products to him, which was too expensive for me to do. I remember he said he wanted my help because I was American and had to have that kind of money; I felt very insulted when I learned that was why he had contacted me in the first place. I was there to make friends, not business. </3

However, I kind of like the idea of having another penpal again, anyone know a good website?

Any Gaians have a penpal?
Do you ever consider it?
Have you visited one?
What are some of your experiences? Were they bad or good?
What have they taught you?
Why would you want one?
User Image

I used to. I had Eduardo, and he lived in Argentina. As well as Kentaro, and he lived in Osaka (or Okinawa, I can't remember).

Have you visited one?
    I would have loved to meet Eduardo! He was so cool and super smart!

Very good, I recommend if you're a language, having a pen pal will teach you so much more than just the language. The cultural knowledge obtain is priceless.

Eduardo, who was really into food, taught me all about the different foods of Argentina. We talked a lot (mostly in Spanish) about his country and compared to my own. Kentaro, who really liked baseball, was very happy to know that his favorite team is in my city. Although I don't know much about the sport, it was fun learning it from him.

Why would you want one?
    To learn about different parts of the world from a civilian's view, not just T.V. or books.

User Image
A I J I N Incubus
User Image